WHY CUBEX?

Power in medical technology – united in two startup centers for the sustainable growth of innovative companies.

Mannheim is a center of medical technology. With the foundation centre CUBEX 41 and the business development center CUBEX ONE (as of spring 2021) this medical technology power is now growing even more dynamically. Integrated into the infrastructure of the Mannheim Medical Technology Campus und der Universitätsmedizin Mannheim both centers form the perfect environment for companies on a course of growth – only a few minutes' walk away from each other.

COMMUNITY

While CUBEX 41, as a center for startups and expertise in the field of medical technology, offers everything that is necessary to start a business in this future-oriented field, younger companies will find the ideal breeding ground for successful growth in the business development center CUBEX ONE.

The tenants of both CUBEX buildings benefit from the interdisciplinary networking in the start-up ecosystem NEXT MANNHEIM and the business network of the Mannheim Medical Technology Cluster – for example, with access to the Intervention Room of the Future as a partner of the M2OLIE research campus in CUBEX 41. Both centers are flexible in terms of architecture and equipment, as it is not the size of the space that determines the size of an idea, but its equipment that determines its growth.

CUBEX 41

CUBEX 41 is structured like a living organism with clearly defined functions. The spatial proximity of the individual areas ensures vitality, which enables efficient networking. With its location on the campus of the University of Mannheim Medical School, the center offers a direct link to the clinical routine of a maximum care provider and the Institut für Medizintechnologie of the Mannheim Medical Faculty and the University of Applied Sciences. It is also home to established experts from the Fraunhofer Project Group for Automation in Medicine and Biotechnology (PAMB). 

The center offers 23 facilities on two floors for startups and SMEs in the field of medical technology. Seven office rooms and 16 iCubes between 16 and 25 square meters are available in the center for use as offices or electrical engineering workshops. Among other things, the iCubes provide hot/cold water connections, wash basins, a central technical compressed air supply, three-phase power supply, electrically dissipative flooring and exhaust air technology for the operation of point extraction systems. There are also areas for common use such as an atrium, a tea/coffee kitchen and a meeting room. Thanks to its central location, CUBEX 41 is easily accessible by public transport or bicycle – and a permanent parking facility in the immediate vicinity ensures a stress-free journey. 

CUBEX ONE

Integrated into award-winning, prestigious architecture, the premises in CUBEX ONE will offer a modern coworking area, five equipped laboratories, 50 office units as well as 40 variable iCubes for office, workshop or laboratory use on around 3,800 square metres of floor space starting In Spring 2021. The well thought-out infrastructure enables start-ups, spin-offs from research and industry, joint research projects as well as small and medium-sized companies to focus on the most important thing: their ideas! This includes ideally equipped seminar and event rooms of the congress center, an atrium with a reception area and gastronomy, fully equipped kitchenettes, various storage and laboratory options, shower and changing rooms, a fiber optic data link for smooth communication and an underground garage with e-charging stations.

If you want to get to your destination faster, you have to take short cuts. Embedded in the Mannheim Medical Technology Campus is the lighthouse of an ecosystem that brings together innovation, medical technology and urban quality of life in a purposeful way and within walking distance.

Meet, talk, think, discuss, weave ideas, start projects, plan, develop and implement together. Encounters and creative interaction with a wide range of protagonists from the world of medical technology and medicine are an essential part of the CUBEX ONE philosophy. At breakfast or at team lunch in the Campus Restaurant, with an espresso in the café or in the evening with a fine glass of wine from the region on the summer or roof terrace – the anatomy of success here is created by the joy of shaping the future. 

EXPERIMENTAL HYBRID-OP

The Fraunhofer Project Group for Automation in Medicine and Biotechnology (PAMB) of Fraunhofer IPA operates a fully equipped experimental hybrid operating room in the startup and competence centre for medical technology CUBEX 41. This is also available to the tenants of CUBEX ONE as a technology development platform, which enables development and testing in a clinical environment and thus an easy transfer to clinical application.

INFO

THE LOCATION

Together, the CUBEX sister-centers form the perfect infrastructure for the development and testing of medical technology products. In addition to their respective individual advantages, both centres also have common location advantages. They are well connected to public transport and are not far away from highway junctions as well as from Mannheim main station, a hub for national and international traffic. In addition, Mannheim has an airport for helicopters, propeller-driven airplanes and business jets.

TOUR

Would you like to take a virtual tour of the CUBEX 41 Medical Technology Centre?

5-HT DIGITAL HUB

A successful corporate culture and internationally recognized research centers are key features of the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region. The 5-HT Digital Hub Mannheim / Ludwigshafen which is part of the nationwide network de:hub, strengthens the topic of digitization specifically in the areas of chemistry and health. Numerous public and private venture investors ensure that innovative technologies and services are developed and available more quickly.

Focus: Digital Chemistry & Digital Health
Partners: NEXT MANNHEIM, BASF SE, SAP SE and PEPPERL + FUCHS.

LIFE-SCIENCE ACCELERATOR BW

The Baden-Württemberg Life Science Accelerator was created through the joint commitment of the Economic and Structural Support of the City of Mannheim, the MAFINEX Gründerverbund eV, the non-profit foundation for medical innovations in Tübingen, the Heidelberg Startup Partners e.V. and the Technologiepark Heidelberg GmbH.

Through the cooperation of the founder associations and research facilities, the founding scene in Baden-Württemberg is supposed to be strengthened and the attractiveness of the partner cities as start-up locations to be increased. The Accelerator consists of three modules: “Medical Innovations Explorer”, “Medtech Startup School” and the “Startup Booster”.

 

COMPANIES

All companies

CONTACT

Katharina Klotzbach

Community Management CUBEX41 & CUBEX ONE
All Contacts
Show map

WARUM CUBEX?

Medizintechnologische Power – vereint in zwei Gründungszentren für das nachhaltige Wachstum innovativer Unternehmen.

Mannheim ist ein Zentrum der Medizintechnologie. Mit dem Gründungszentrum CUBEX 41 und dem Business Development Center CUBEX ONE (ab Frühjahr 2021) wächst diese medizintechnologische Power jetzt noch dynamischer. Eingebunden in die Infrastruktur des Mannheim Medical Technology Campus und der Universitätsmedizin Mannheim bilden beide Zentren die perfekte Umgebung für Unternehmen auf Wachstumskurs – nur wenige Gehminuten voneinander entfernt.

COMMUNITY

Während das CUBEX 41 als Zentrum für Gründungen und Kompetenzen im Bereich Medizintechnologie alles bietet, was für den Start eines Unternehmens in diesem Zukunftsfeld nötig ist, finden junge Unternehmen im Business Development Center CUBEX ONE den idealen Nährboden zum erfolgreichen Wachstum.

Die Mieter*innen beider CUBEX-Häuser profitieren von der cross-sektoralen Vernetzung im Startup Ecosystem NEXT MANNHEIM und dem Businessnetzwerk des Mannheim Medical Technology Cluster  – etwa mit dem Zugang zum Interventionsraum der Zukunft als Partner des Forschungscampus M2OLIE im CUBEX 41. Beide Zentren sind in Sachen Architektur und Ausstattung flexibel, denn schließlich entscheidet nicht die Größe der Räume über die Größe einer Idee, sondern deren Equipment über ihr Wachstum.

CUBEX 41

Das CUBEX 41 ist strukturiert wie ein lebender Organismus mit klar definierten Funktionen. Für Vitalität sorgt die räumliche Nähe der einzelnen Bereiche, was effizientes Netzwerken ermöglicht. Mit seiner Lage auf dem Campus der Universitätsmedizin Mannheim bietet das Zentrum die direkte Anbindung an die klinische Routine eines Maximalversorgers und das Institut für Medizintechnologie der Universität Heidelberg und der Hochschule Mannheim. Es beherbergt auch bereits etablierte Fachleute der Fraunhofer Projektgruppe für Automatisierung in der Medizin und Biotechnologie (PAMB). 

Das Zentrum bietet auf zwei Stockwerken 23 Räumlichkeiten für Startups und KMU im Bereich Medizintechnologie. Sieben Büroräume sowie 16 iCubes zwischen 16 und 25 Quadratmetern stehen im Zentrum zur Nutzung als Büro bis hin zur Elektrotechnik-Werkstatt bereit. In den iCubes stehen unter anderem Heiß-/Kaltwasseranschluss, Waschbecken, zentrale technische Druckluftversorgung, Drehstromanschluss, elektrisch ableitfähiger Fußboden und Ablufttechnik für den Betrieb von Punktabsaugungen zur Verfügung. Darüber hinaus gibt es Bereiche zur gemeinsamen Nutzung wie ein Atrium, eine Tee-/Kaffeeküche und einen Besprechungsraum. Dank der zentralen Lage ist das CUBEX 41 mit dem ÖPNV oder dem Fahrrad bequem erreichbar – und eine Dauerparkmöglichkeit in nächster Nähe sorgt für eine stressfreie Anreise. 

CUBEX ONE

Integriert in prämierte, repräsentative Architektur, bieten die Räumlichkeiten im CUBEX ONE ab Frühjahr 2021 auf rund 3.800 Quadratmetern Nutzfläche eine moderne Coworking-Area, fünf ausgestattete Labore, 50 Büroeinheiten sowie 40 variable iCubes zur Büro-, Werkstatt- oder Labornutzung. Die durchdachte Infrastruktur ermöglicht Startups, Spin-Offs aus Forschung und Industrie, Verbundforschungsprojekten sowie kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen die Fokussierung auf das Wesentliche: ihre Idee! Dazu gehören unter anderem ideal ausgestattete Seminar- und Veranstaltungsräume des Kongresszentrums, ein Atrium mit Empfangsbereich und Gastronomie, vollausgestattete Teeküchen, vielfältige Lager- und Laboroptionen, Dusch- und Umkleidebereiche, eine Lichtleiter-Datenanbindung für reibungslose Kommunikation und eine Tiefgarage mit E-Ladestationen.

Wer schneller zum Ziel will, muss kurze Wege gehen. Eingebettet in den Mannheim Medical Technology Campus, ist das CUBEX ONE der Leuchtturm eines Ökosystems, das Innovation, Medizintechnologie und urbane Lebensqualität miteinander zielgerichtet und fußläufig zusammenbringt.

Treffen. Reden. Denken. Diskutieren. Ideen spinnen. Projekte starten. Gemeinsam planen, entwickeln, realisieren: Die Begegnung und kreative Interaktion mit unterschiedlichsten Akteuren aus der Welt der Medizintechnologie und der Medizin sind ein essentieller Teil der CUBEX ONE-Philosophie. Beim Frühstück oder beim Team-Lunch im Campus-Restaurant, bei einem Espresso im Café oder abends bei einem guten Glas Wein aus der Region auf der Sommer- oder Dachterrasse – die Anatomie des Erfolgs ist hier die Freude am gemeinsamen Gestalten der Zukunft.

EXPERIMENTELLER HYBRID-OP

Im Gründungs- und Kompetenzzentrum Medizintechnologie CUBEX 41 betreibt die Fraunhofer Projektgruppe für Automatisierung in der Medizin und Biotechnologie (PAMB)des Fraunhofer IPA einen voll ausgestatteten experimentellen Hybrid-OP. Dieser steht auch für die Mieter des CUBEX ONE als Technologie-Entwicklungsplattform zur Verfügung, die Entwicklung und Erprobung in einer klinischen Umgebung und damit einen einfachen Transfer in die klinische Anwendung ermöglicht.

STANDORT

Gemeinsam bilden die CUBEX-Schwesterzentren die perfekte Infrastruktur für die Entwicklung und Erprobung medizintechnologischer Produkte. Beide Zentren haben neben ihren jeweiligen individuellen Vorteilen auch gemeinsame Standort-Pluspunkte. Sie sind gut an den ÖPNV angebunden und liegen nicht weit weg von Autobahnanschlussstellen sowie vom Mannheimer Hauptbahnhof, einem Knotenpunkt für den nationalen und internationalen Verkehr. Zudem verfügt Mannheim über einen Flughafen für Helikopter, Propeller-Reiseflugzeuge und Business-Jets.

TOUR

Lust auf einen virtuellen Rundgang durch das CUBEX 41? Hier klicken und entdecken! 

5-HT DIGITAL HUB

Erfolgreiche Unternehmenskultur und international anerkannte Forschungszentren machen die Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar aus. Im deutschlandweiten de:hub-Netzwerk des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie stärkt der 5-HT Digital Hub Mannheim/Ludwigshafen die Digitalisierung in den Bereichen Chemie und Gesundheit. Zahlreiche kommunale und private Wagniskapitalgeber sorgen dafür, dass innovative Technologien und Dienstleistungen schneller auf den Markt gebracht werden können.    

  • Schwerpunkte: Digital Chemistry & Digital Health
  • Gesellschafter: NEXT MANNHEIM, BASF SE, SAP SE und PEPPERL + FUCHS, METROPOLREGION RHEIN-NECKAR, HEIDELBERG STARTUP PARTNERS.

LIFE-SCIENCE ACCELERATOR BW

Ein Turbo für medizintechnologische Innovation: Der Life Science Accelerator Baden-Württemberg stärkt durch interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit die Gründungsszene in Baden-Württemberg. Der Accelerator besteht aus drei Modulen: „Medical Innovations Explorer“, „Medtech Startup School“ und „Startup Booster“. Möglich wurde das attraktive Programm durch das gemeinsame Engagement der Wirtschafts- und Strukturförderung der Stadt Mannheim, des MAFINEX Gründerverbund e.V., der gemeinnützigen Stiftung für medizinische Innovationen in Tübingen, der Heidelberg Startup Partners e.V. und der Technologiepark Heidelberg GmbH.

UNTERNEHMEN

Alle Unternehmen